Stress & distress -who can stay calm?

After several attempts at this baby-making thing, I am trained to be very, very aware of every little pain or change in my body in anticipation of the worst-case scenario about to happen. Sometimes it’s great to hear that every woman experiences pregnancy different because maybe that means the light spotting you’re seeing won’t result in the light spotting your friend saw.. just before she miscarried. On the other hand it would just make life so much easier if there was a process document of exactly what to expect and when. That way we could tick off all the symptoms and when one doesn’t occur or something different happens – then we automatically know what to do – call the doctor. Instead it’s this constant stress of wondering if this time next week I’ll still be pregnant.

I’m pretty sure I’m tired of everyone telling me not to stress because it’s not good for the pregnancy. What’s not good for the pregnancy is 3 previous miscarriages because they make you a paranoid mess every time something goes perceivably wrong. How are you supposed to stay calm and exude the pregnancy ‘glow’ when every little change or pain strikes fear in your heart?

It would all be manageable if you could just have a hot bath and relax but alas… hot baths are just one of the many luxuries I’ll have to give up during the pregnancy. I’m happy to do so, if you know who would just co-operate and stick with me this time!

About Becoming Mommy

I'm a 42 year old woman pregnant with my first child. It's been a rough road to get here and even rougher once I got here! Books and websites cannot prepare you for what you're about to go through -emotionally and physically.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

