Hormone range – I am an island

Hormone  rage – WTF? I thought I was supposed to be all glowy and happy now that I’m finally pregnant so where is this irrational anger and sadness coming from? The hardest part about this stage is that you aren’t really supposed to tell anyone you’re pregnant and if they don’t know they can’t tell… by ‘looking’ at you. But listening to you is a different thing! All of a sudden the smallest things can make you cry and god forbid if anything sad really does happen because then you’ll be a level 4 emotional disaster. Out of no where I can get angry over nothing and even while I’m yelling and screaming and throwing TV converters at 50 mph’, I can hear the faint echo of my former self saying ‘Am I insane? What am I saying? This doesn’t even make sense to me!”, and yet you can’t stop. You’re a sane person trapped in a crazy persons body and there’s no way out.

The pregnancy books are wrong. People know you’re pregnant way before you start showing if they know you at all. It is evident long before the weight gain with all the emotional outbursts, the forgetful things you do like filling your car with diesel, re-piercing a hole in your ear that has been healed for over 20 years and putting the pasta in the saran wrap box.  You can try to hide it but as it turns out, hormones are bigger than you’ll ever be and they are hell to  camouflage.

Still waiting for the glowing and peaceful pregnancy state to begin. Should be anytime now.

About Becoming Mommy

I'm a 42 year old woman pregnant with my first child. It's been a rough road to get here and even rougher once I got here! Books and websites cannot prepare you for what you're about to go through -emotionally and physically.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

