Christmas and turkey related ‘bumps’

Christmas was different this year. We had just lost my Grandma who was always the ‘hub’ of the holidays growing up so mix hormones and grief and you get a holiday full of self-pity. My parents and brother (and wife) spent Christmas abroad in the exotic land of Egypt. You really notice how important family is during the holidays – especially when they are AWOL! But it was fun to spend the day with my partner’s family who I love and enjoy.

At just under 10 weeks I haven’t noticed too many obvious changes – obvious to anyone else. Maybe the teenage like acne is a bit of a giveaway but other than that I really didn’t think anyone else could tell. However I could a few comments about my little ‘bump’. Pretty sure that ain’t no bump – that’s your mothers turkey and to-die-for stuffing! But I went with the whole bump theory to save myself some embarrassment.

It was easy not to drink wine because the very thought of it makes me gag but what I am having a hard time with is giving up the coffee and tea. It’s hard to wake up in the morning without it and I miss the warm, steamy ritual. My fix is a Starbucks Decaf soy vanilla latte. Hell if I have to give up caffeine, I’m keeping the sugar!

About Becoming Mommy

I'm a 42 year old woman pregnant with my first child. It's been a rough road to get here and even rougher once I got here! Books and websites cannot prepare you for what you're about to go through -emotionally and physically.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

